CP Underground forums
New Here? Register To Fully Access all Our Forum Sections Smile . Already Registered? Then Log In

CP Underground forums by Fotis01 and Niceplayer
HomeGalleryRegisterLog inWarning listBoard updates log


 Wisden Cricketers of the Year

Go down 

Number of posts : 24
Age : 29
Warning level : Wisden Cricketers of the Year Erotim10
Registration date : 2010-10-14

Wisden Cricketers of the Year Empty
PostSubject: Wisden Cricketers of the Year   Wisden Cricketers of the Year Icon_minitimeMon Dec 20, 2010 5:20 am

The Wisden Cricketers of the Year are cricketers selected for the honour by the annual publication Wisden Cricketers' Almanack, based primarily on their "influence on the previous English season."[1] The award began in 1889 with the naming of "Six Great Bowlers of the Year",[2] and continued with the naming of "Nine Great Batsmen of the Year" in 1890 and "Five Great Wicket-Keepers" in 1891.[3]

Since 1897, with a few notable exceptions, the annual award has recognised five players of the year. No players were named in 1916 or 1917, as the First World War prevented any first-class cricket being played in England, while in 1918 and 1919 the recipients were five schoolboy cricketers.[3] From 1941 to 1946, the Second World War caused the same issue and no players were named. Three players have been sole recipients: W. G. Grace (1896), Plum Warner (1921) and Jack Hobbs (1926). The latter two selections are the only exceptions to the rule that a player may receive the award only once. Hobbs was first recognised in 1909, but was selected a second time in 1926 to honour his breaking W. G. Grace's record of 126 first-class hundreds;[4] Warner was first honoured in 1904, but received a second award in 1921 for his last season in first-class cricket, when he led Middlesex to a County Championship win.[4] John Wisden, cricketer and eponymous founder of the almanack, was featured in a special commemorative section in the Jubilee edition of the publication in 1913, 29 years posthumously

British escorts
Busty London Escort
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wisden Cricketers of the Year
Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
» Happy New Year everyone.
» Magnus Carlsen wins Chess Oscar for second year running
» Terminator- 2012 Year Base book (Private book, now public)
» Golden year
» Book of the Year-British Chess Federation

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
CP Underground forums :: Club penguin :: General-
Jump to: